Divergent Faction

Divergent Faction ALLEGIANT Review (contains spoilers)

Leave a comment

20131203-090449.jpg

This is my first time writing a book review so bear with me.

It has been almost a little over a month since Allegiant, the final book in Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy has been released and lots of people loved it and some did not. I am one of those that loved it. Read on to find out why.

WARNING THE BELOW CONTENT CONTAINS ALLEGIANT SPOILERS!!!

When I first picked up Allegiant I just knew that I would see a good amount of my favourite characters go. It is in fact the last book in the Divergent trilogy.

Veronica Roth’s books have touched me in a certain way that some other books have not. The fact that Allegiant is the final book in the Divergent trilogy kind of hits home.

We finally found out what was outside if the fence. It was in fact the Bureau. Allegiant explained things that we had been waiting to understand. We found out about the Bureau, that Tris’ mom was involved with the Bureau, and the point of the factions. We also found out that Chicago was not the only place that had been segregated, there were other cities too. Chicago was the place where the factions originated and where the factions were best lived out.

Allegiant filled us in on why/how Tris’ mom was Dauntless. We also found out that Andrew Prior was Erudite and was great friends with Jeanine until he found out just how evil she was. He and Natalie switched over to Abnegation to live better lives.

This book let us know just how horrible the government was in this. The bureau also only wanted people that were Divergent. These people were genetically pure. Others that were not Divergent were genetically damaged.

In Allegiant it seems that lots of the characters discovered who they were.

As soon as It was suggested that Caleb be the one to sacrifice his life for everyone I knew that Tris would be taking his place. That is just the type of person she is. She is after all Divergent so she still has selflessness in her. The fact that her mom was there to take her was perfect. There was no better person to do it. Natalie Prior sacrificed so much for Tris and Caleb it only seemed right.

Was Tris’ death heartbreaking? Yes. Do I wish it was Caleb instead of her? Yes. But this was something that just had to happen.

A part in the book that really and truly interested me was when Peter wanted to become a different person. Tobias had a serum that would make people forget their memories. Peter wanted this serum so that he could change and become a better person. He took it and it changed him for a while but then he went back to being himself again.

The end of the story was probably the most heartbreaking to me. All of Tris’ friends and Tobias celebrate her life and spreading her ashes by doing something that she loved doing, zip-lining.

In the end Tobias was able to reconcile with his mother. Chicago changed for the better. There are no more factions and people can live the way that they want to live.

Allegiant was told from two different POV’s, Tris and Tobias. I have to be honest about this, I preferred Tris’ POV over Tobias’. I don’t know why, but I just did. But V had to do it because of the fate of Tris.

We may have lost Edward, Tori, Uriah and Tris, but we gained a great great story.

Veronica Roth wrote this story to the best of her ability and it was absolutely perfect to me. There truly was no other way to end this book then the way that she did. Tris had to die in order for things to be right.

I give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars. It was very well written.

What were your thoughts on Allegiant? Share your thoughts with me in the comments or on twitter @DivergentFction

Author: Satin Dents

My name is Satin, I am a huge fan of Veronica Roth and the Divergent series. I started this site because I wanted to inform fans with information on one of my favorite series and author.

Leave a comment