Divergent Faction

Word Wednesday: Tris zip lines!

Leave a comment

wordwednesday (1)

 

 

Chapter 17 is when Tris zip lines for the first time. This scene to me is where she truly realizes that she is one of the Dauntless. The fearlessness that sh displays shows that.

“Held secure by my straps, I throw my arms out to the side and imagine that I am flying. I plunge toward the street, which is cracked and patchy and follows perfectly the curve of the marsh. I can imagine, up here, how the marsh looked when it was full of water, like liquid steel as it reflected the color of the sky.

The ground grows and bulges beneath me, and I can see the tiny people standing on the pavement below. I should scream, like any rational human being would, but when I open my mouth again, I crow with joy. I yell louder, and the figures on the ground pump their fists and yell back, but they are so far away I can barely hear them.”

I love what Tris answers when Shauna asks her what she thought after she finished zip lining:

“Um. When can I go again?”

What are your thought on this scene? Sound off in the comments below.

 

Author: Satin Dents

My name is Satin, I am a huge fan of Veronica Roth and the Divergent series. I started this site because I wanted to inform fans with information on one of my favorite series and author.

Leave a Reply

